Crossroads Quilters Guild Effingham IL. · Free Quilt Patterns · Guild Sampler · Quilting tips

Sampler Quilt Blocks #8 and #9

Hello quilters, it’s time once again for your next two Crossroads Quilt Sampler blocks! I will not be able to attend this month’s guild meeting so I have gone ahead and posted the blocks a bit sooner than normal. Just click the block names below and the patterns will open in a new tab for you to view and/or print. Normally I have printed copies available for you at each meeting but since I will not be at the meeting printed copies will NOT be available until our September meeting.

Block #8 – Simple Star

8-c

Block #9 – Pinwheel 

9-c

 

As you can see this month’s blocks are ALL about the half square triangle! If you are need of a shortcut to make your half square triangle blocks, check out the video below! Or search YouTube for Half Square Triangle tutorials and you will find hundreds of them that can help you out.

As an alternative, the free pattern “Have A Heart” has a nice step by step photo tutorial on making half square triangles. Just remember you will need to adjust the cut size of the starter squares to match the pattern you are making. Math isn’t fun but it is sometimes necessary! personal I don’t like to deal with adding an extra 7/8″ so I add an extra 1″ to the size of the finished square I am needing. So if a pattern calls for a finished half square of 1.50″ I cut my starter squares at 2.50″ that way I can trim the squares do to the perfect size. Yes you are wasting a tiny bit of fabric but you get a absolutely perfect finished half square block!

Happy Quilting Ladies! – Beth K.

